Spinach and Bacon Chicken

You guys. You guys.

Go make this now.

No. I’ll wait. Seriously.

 

…Oh. *blush* I guess you’ll need the recipe, huh.

Have you ever heard the phrase “my tongue almost beat up my face trying to get to it”? That’s one of mom’s favorite sayings when she’s eating something tasty. She didn’t say it tonight (too busy stuffing her face, lol!) , but *I* did! It really was uncommonly delicious. Normally with AR recipes, I’d post a picture and link you to the recipe. (Link will open in a new window!)  But because I made some pretty drastic changes, I’ll post my version here too 🙂

 

Ingredients

  • 7 slices bacon
  • 4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour for coating
  • 1 26-oz can of Cream of Chicken Soup
  • 1/3 of a can chicken stock/broth – probably around 5 oz.
  • 1 6 oz bag of baby spinach
  • Hawaiian Rolls

Directions

1. Put a deep skillet/frying pan on the stove, you’ll want a good medium-high heat. Using a sharp knife or kitchen shears, cut the raw bacon into 1-inch pieces. Place into the hot skillet, cook until they’re your favorite doneness. (Doneness is so a word, WordPress!) I hate crumbling up bacon once it’s already cooked – it just feels greasy and gross. Cutting the pieces before they’re cooked means I won’t have to crumble anything. Plus it cooks faster – excellent news! Remove with a slotted spoon to a paper towel covered plate, reserving the bacon grease in the pan.
2. Measure 2 cups flour out onto a pan or dish. Salt and pepper the flour, then salt and pepper each chicken breast. Dredge each breast, then place into the hot pan. Cook each side about 3-4 minutes. We’re looking for a good browning here, not complete doneness. That’ll come later! If you’re having to cook in batches, you may need to add some olive oil (or vegetable oil, whatever you’ve got on hand) to the pan to cook the second batch.
3. Once your chicken is nicely browned, remove the chicken. You may need to remove some of the oil/grease at this point: you don’t want a lot of oil in your final dish. Open the can of soup, dump it in the frying pan. Let it soak up all the bits of chicken and bacon that stuck to the bottom of the pan, stirring constantly. Add the spinach, cover. You want a low, steady heat here. Once the spinach is wilted, add a little bit of the stock to the pan, till it’s not as thick. I probably used less than 5 oz – there’s a pretty full jar of chicken broth in my fridge right now.
4. Add the chicken back into the pot, cover, and simmer for about 15 minutes, stirring occasionally. You don’t want it to stick.
5. Serve with Hawaiian bread, or over pasta or rice.

 

2 comments on “Spinach and Bacon Chicken

  1. Damaris says:

    spinach and bacon is such a good combination.

    • Nancy Greyfeather says:

      It so is. My MIL makes a spinach salad I’m going to play with. Before I moved to Ohio I never liked the stuff. Now I can’t get enough of it!

Leave a Reply

