Brown Sugar Meatloaf: AR Review

I could’ve sworn I’d posted this before I moved, but I guess I didn’t.

Oh well. Hi ladies and gents! I bring you another Allrecipes Review – one of the last on my camera’s memory card. I still haven’t unpacked/found my charger, so… *shifty eyes*. I’m hoping this won’t be the last you see of me! Haha.

Anyway. I’ve got sort of a love/hate relationship with meatloaf. They can be pretty wall-flowery, can’t they? Very boring, very unassuming, and in the worst cases, pretty dry and gross. Big hunks of vegetables that just makes everything look so unappealing – which reminds me of Eddie Murphy’s stand up routine about his childhood self wanting a McDonald’s cheeseburger – leave a comment if you remember with what I’m talking about! (Eddie rocked that purple leather outfit, didn’t he? Haha)

I didn’t think I’d ever find another meatloaf recipe I liked more than Eileen’s. I’d be perfectly okay with serving that one at a dinner party. Not with Brown Sugar Meatloaf. Don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing ‘lesser’ to BSM, except that it’s simple. It reminds me of something my grandmother would’ve made back in the day. It’s just down home, good soul food, and it’s delicious. I had everything on hand in my pantry, and there wasn’t anything ‘weird’ in it like Parmesan cheese (which my husband despises. Who despises cheese?!)

It’s not overly sweet, which was a concern. I couldn’t taste the saltines, and it wasn’t so jam-packed with binder that it was dry. It wasn’t overly oily, either – in fact, I probably could’ve added more of the saltines to make it hold together more – when I placed it on the cutting board, it fell apart. It wasn’t a problem, though! The ginger lends something indescribable to the meat. It really ‘makes’ the meal, I think.

Definitely try this one. I was pleasantly surprised. 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

