30 Minute Mandarin Chicken


Man, I’ve been really getting a kick out of these chicken dishes I’ve been making lately. This one comes from one of my recipe groups on Yahoo. It’s uber tasty. To be honest, I could eat this without the rice. Just throw more vegetables in it and I’d be good to go.

I promise I’ll get back in the habit of taking pictures of the process..
Eventually!

30-Minute Countdown Mandarin Chicken
1 can Campbell’s condensed chicken broth; (10 1/2 oz) divided
2 TBSP cornstarch
1/4 cup vinegar
1/4 cup sugar
1 TBSP soy sauce
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1 can sliced water chestnuts; (8 oz) drained
1 pound skinless; boneless chicken
breasts, cut into 1 inch chunks
1 small green or sweet red pepper; cut into strips diced.
1 can mandarin orange segments; (11 oz) drained – I used 2 cans. I like me some mandarins. I ate half a can while I waited! I’m so bad.
hot cooked rice

1. In cup, stir together 1/4 cup of the broth and the cornstarch until well blended; set aside.
2. In 10-inch skillet over medium heat, combine remaining broth, vinegar, sugar, soy sauce, ginger and water chestnuts. Heat to boiling.
3. Add chicken to skillet. Reduce heat to low. Simmer 10 minutes. Add green pepper; cook 3 minutes more or until chicken is tender and juices run clear.
4. Stir in cornstarch mixture. Cook over medium heat until mixture boils and thickens, stirring constantly. Gently stir in oranges. Serve over rice.

Makes 4 cups or 4 servings.

Source: Campbell’s 75th Anniversary Cookbook Cooking in Minutes
Copyright 1991 Campbell Soup Company
ISBN 1-56173-268-0

2 comments on “30 Minute Mandarin Chicken

  1. mandarin chicken is good. my husband loves this stuff specially when it’s sold in hawaii as a plate lunch.

    ps. thanks for you nice comment

    • Nancy Greyfeather says:

      Haha. Everything would be better in Hawaii! Thank you for commenting as well. I appreciate it! ❤

Leave a Reply

