Sort-Of Salsa Chicken

My go-to recipe website is turning into http://www.allrecipes.com – most everything I’ve made on this blog starts out at AR. But that’s OK! Really.

So I knew this morning that I’d have to come up with dinner tonight. Our cupboard is getting mighty slim since it’s so close to the end of the month. One of these days I’m actually going to go with a menu instead of a meat buying frenzy. 😀

Anyway, I came across the Salsa Chicken Recipe at AR. I had a bit of cheese left over, and a ton of spices, and salsa. Wooo!

Sort - Of Salsa Chicken
Minus chicken and the salsa. Oops.

Ingredients:

1. 4-6 Chicken Breasts
2. Spices: (to taste)

  • Onion Powder
  • Garlic Powder
  • Weber Canadian Chicken rub

3. Your favorite salsa
4. Your favorite cheese
5. Cooking spray

Preheat your oven to 375°F.

Lightly spray a shallow baking dish with cooking spray and throw the chicken breasts in there. Spray cooking spray on the breasts as well, then sprinkle the spices on the chicken to your taste – if you like it spicy, make it spicy! Do this with the unseasoned side as well.

Sort - Of Salsa Chicken
Mmm. Yummy already.
Sort - Of Salsa Chicken
And then spoon your salsa on top of your uncooked chicken.

Once your salsa is on the chicken, cover the dish and place in your preheated oven for 35-55 minutes depending on the thickness of your chicken. Mine was still half frozen when I put it in the oven, so it took the entire 55 minutes. Before the five minutes was up, I sprinkled on what cheese I had.

And ya’ll, it got bubbly.
It got gooey.
It got freakin’ delicious.
Just look!

DSCN0546

And then you get to serve it up to verrrry happy family members.
And yourself, of course.

DSCN0550

DSCN0548

3 comments on “Sort-Of Salsa Chicken

  1. Shannon says:

    What is the pasta you serve with the chicken?

  2. Nancy says:

    Hi Shannon! I served Birds Eye Steamfresh Lightly Sauced Rotini and Broccoli with Cheese Sauce. Really simple to make – I just threw it in the microwave for four minutes then stirred it all together. It's something my picky eater (my daughter Kelly) will eat, which is always a bonus!

  3. Shannon says:

    Thanks. Your recipe looks good, i'll have to try it out.

Leave a Reply

