Baked and Broiled Chicken with Watermelon Glaze

You guys! You guys! Guess what! I have a camera! Better yet, I’ve got a recipe for ya’ll. I recently got my Better Homes and Gardens Recipe with Grilled Chicken with Watermelon Glaze on the cover, and promptly decided I needed to try it. But instead of grilling it (it was raining) I baked and broiled it.

Now, before I show you these pictures, I gotta admit I’m not 100% familiar with this camera. I’m still learning it’s little idiosyncrasies, so you may notice how … off the colors may look at times. But I think it’s still yummy inducing.

I’m going to post the original recipe, and put my changes in italic blue.

Ingredients

  • 1 recipe Watermelon Glaze, recipe below
  • 1 whole chicken or 3-1/2 lbs. meaty chicken pieces
  • 1/2 tsp. kosher salt
  • Snipped fresh herbs (optional)

Directions

1. Prepare Watermelon Glaze: Cut half of a small watermelon from the rind in chunks (about 4 cups of fruit). Cut remaining half of watermelon into wedges for serving; refrigerate until ready to serve. Place in a food mill or juicer and collect the juice. Or place watermelon chunks in blender. Cover; blend until nearly smooth. Pour mixture into a fine mesh sieve over a bowl; discard solid bits. I didn’t do this part, because I blended it really well. Oops. Reserve 1 cup of the juice and drink or freeze the rest. I wish I had freezed the rest!
In small saucepan melt 1, 12-oz. jar apple jelly over low heat, stirring often so it doesn’t burn. Stir in 1 cup watermelon juice, the juice and zest of one small lime. Forgot to buy lime, so I used bottled lemon juice instead. Add 2 tsp. red chile flakes, 1 tsp. jalapeƱo hot sauce, and a pinch of salt. Mix and taste. Adjust seasoning as desired; remove from heat. We didn’t have any red chile flakes, so I left that out and used a couple of dashes of hot sauce instead. Next time I would definitely throw in the flakes.
Use warm, or let cool and transfer to a clean jar. Glaze will keep, tightly covered, in the refrigerator for up to 2 days.

2. Remove chicken from packaging and pat dry with paper towels. To butterfly, using poultry or kitchen shears cut along each side of backbone to remove it (see “butterflying chicken,” below). Turn chicken breast-side up. Open the two sides of the chicken as if you were opening a book, and lay it flat. Break breastbone by firmly applying pressure and pressing down. Tuck wing tips under upper wings. I used skinless boneless chicken breasts. I would definitely use the whole bird next time.

3. Prepare grill for indirect grilling (see below). Brush chicken with olive oil. Season chicken on both sides with salt and black pepper. Place skin-side down, on center of grill over indirect medium heat. I noticed the chicken was still frozen, so I followed the directions but added some Canadian chicken seasoning before throwing it into the oven. I let the chicken bake in the oven at 400 for maybe 30 minutes. Once it was more or less thawed and nearly done, I threw it on the broiler pan and let it broil as I glazed the chicken as recommended.

4. Grill 25 minutes. Turn chicken over. Brush a little of the remaining 2/3 cup glaze on skin. Grill 25 to 30 minutes more, or until juices run clear and an instant-read thermometer inserted in thickest part of thigh registers 180 degrees F, brushing with glaze 2 more times.

5. Remove chicken from grill; brush with the reserved 1/3 cup glaze and let rest 10 minutes. Cut chicken into pieces. Serve with fresh watermelon wedges and sprinkle with herbs. Makes 6 servings.

Butterflying Chicken:Butterflying makes it easy to cook a whole chicken on the grill. Kitchen or poultry shears are the best tool for the job. Make a cut about 1-1/2 inches apart on both sides of the backbone, cutting all the way down, and remove backbone.

Indirect Grilling:This method positions the fire to one side or both ends of grill. Food sits over the unlit part, and the grill is covered so the food cooks from all sides. This is best for thicker cuts that need longer cooking like roasts and ribs.

Nutrition Facts

  • Calories 539,
  • Total Fat (g) 27,
  • Saturated Fat (g) 8,
  • Monounsaturated Fat (g) 11,
  • Polyunsaturated Fat (g) 6,
  • Cholesterol (mg) 135,
  • Sodium (mg) 313,
  • Carbohydrate (g) 39,
  • Total Sugar (g) 30,
  • Fiber (g) 1,
  • Protein (g) 35,
  • Vitamin C (DV%) 41,
  • Calcium (DV%) 4,
  • Iron (DV%) 13,
  • Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet

Watermelon, my plate (see what I mean when it comes to the colors..? Or maybe it was the plethora of yellow that night. My daughter enjoys mac and cheese and corn.) .. and my daughter eating watermelon!

Leave a Reply

