Easy Caramelized Onion Pork Chops

Alright, so it’s been a very long time since I’ve updated this thing – and to be honest, probably the only reason I’m updating now is that I’m living in Ohio now! Yay! I never had the urge in SC to update, but now.. I’m hoping that’s done.

So yes. Say hello to the first meal that was NOT made by my hubbykins since moving to Ohio almost two weeks ago: caramelized onion pork chops. Mmm. www.allrecipes.com came through yet again. Please pay no attention to the shoddy plating skills – I was just too hungry to freaking make it all prettified for you guys. And I apologize in advance for the lack of proper measuring – I guess I’m a hardcore Southern cook at heart. Not much gets measured if I’m throwing stuff in willy nilly. For serious. The husband took one look at my recipe (a pink post-it with the ingredient list scribbled on it) and just looked at me as if I grew another head. He *knows* now! XD

Easy Caramelized Onion Pork Chops
(adapted from allrecipes)

  • 4 pork loins
  • Lawry’s seasoning salt
  • fresh cracked black pepper
  • package of pre-chopped onions (I eyeballed this. I’m pretty sure it was more than an onion, though)
  • tablespoon of minced garlic (husband keeps a big jar of this – he LOVES garlic, oh my gosh)
  • teaspoon of white sugar
  • olive oil
  • 1 cup water
  1. Heat a skillet on top of your stove with enough of the olive oil to cover the bottom of the pan.
  2. Season the pork with the seasoning salt and the black pepper. I found the pork a trifle too salty, so please take some care when you’re seasoning your meat. It does not need to be orange, I promise! (But when I mentioned it to my husband and my mom, both said that it was REALLY good as is. Maybe I’m just really sensitive to salt.)
  3. Brown pork on both sides, then let rest on paper towels.
  4. Throw in a cup of water and the onions and garlic. Stir. Stir. Stir. Freak out cause you almost forgot the sugar. Add the sugar.
  5. Look good? Throw chops back in.
  6. Cook on low till the chops are done.

Simple! Tasty! When I made the dish I actually didn’t freak out about the sugar till after the chops were back in – I was CONVINCED that I was going to have sweet meat and I don’t really like sweet meat. But it’s delicious and tasty and easy peasy. I bet you could scale it for a bigger family really easy too!

One comment on “Easy Caramelized Onion Pork Chops

  1. […] and saw me jumping up and down. It was pretty hilarious. I’m gonna use the juice to make my Easy Caramelized Onion Pork Chops. Mmm mmm mmm. It’s probably my favorite recipe with apples these […]

Leave a Reply

